Author Topic: tent advice.  (Read 2324 times)

tent advice.
« on: 16 July, 2016, 10:41:37 pm »
Advice needed on this tent.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Tent-Ultralight-Waterproof-Silicone-Double-layer/dp/B00WMDRSSK?ie=UTF8&*Version*=1&*entries*=0

ok so i dont do much touring so don't want to spend loads of cash i don't have on an expensive tent .this tent get's good and a wee bit dodgy reviews on utube  ::-)

i need a lightweight tent that packs small it has to sit on my carradice camper saddle bag,trying to go touring with just the one bag  well not counting barbag.
so what do u guys reckon is there a better tent out there for around the same price and size.

Re: tent advice.
« Reply #1 on: 16 July, 2016, 11:13:27 pm »
That's a very light tent at a very low price. It's made in China. I've no knowledge of the brand, but the feeling I'm getting is that you get what you pay for. And it's a two-person tent, which should make it heavier.

The classic ultra-light tent seems to be the Terra Nova Laser Competition. I've never been able to afford one! At the bottom of that page are some others. The Wild Country Zephyros looks good. The Vango Soul 100 isn't in the same league, but is similar in price and style to the one you suggested, and comes from a proven manufacturer. The same is true of my Coleman Epsilon 2, which is no longer made, but the Cobra is not dissimilar. Note that many of these are one-man tents; unless you're really trying for minimum weight, many people like the extra space of a nominal two-man tent.

If you're getting the idea that I'd buy any of these in preference to the one in your link, I'm afraid you're right.

« Reply #2 on: 17 July, 2016, 10:49:08 am »
drossall thanks for that good advice im no tent expert far from it so good advice is much appreciated.
i like the look of the cobra and aravis 2 man bit heave 2.5kg  but seem a great tent at a good price £82.
but is it going to be heavy for my  carbon bike im going to be using thats the thing.