Author Topic: Why can't people learn to use the road courteously?  (Read 7278 times)

Why can't people learn to use the road courteously?
« on: 19 May, 2012, 06:45:33 pm »
Hi, I am a car driver who enjoys a bit of cycling from time to time.

When driving, the worst road users are taxis etc. right?

Wrong, cyclists are by far the most inconsiderate road users I ever encounter.

I slow down and wait behind cyclists on country roads - where there's a blind bend or not safe to pass etc. But I never find the same courtesy extended back. All I ever see is cyclists riding two or three abreast and unwilling to pull into single file. If riding alone, they usually cycle in the middle of the lane, and unwilling to pull over. (on roads where you cannot safely pass them).

If a cyclist is inconsederate to me on the road now, if behind them I will sound the horn, keep revving, drive close behind etc. If they're cycling towards me I just speed up and then they have to get out of the way.

I wish I didn't have to behave like this, but they are so fucking rude, hold up real traffic, and really piss people off. Most car drivers try to be considerate to cyclsts, why can't cyclists behave the same?

It's not just the sunday bike riders either, its just as much the lycra brigade that behave like twats.

How do you as bike riders expect drivers to be courteous and mindful of your presence on the road when all you do is piss us off? It makes me treat you with contempt, and it shouldn't be like that.

jogler

• mojo operandi
Re: Why can't people learn to use the road courteously?
« Reply #1 on: 19 May, 2012, 06:52:05 pm »
and it shouldn't be like that.

I agree

« Reply #2 on: 19 May, 2012, 06:53:41 pm »
Here we go.... ::-)

I reckon this one'll run for a while....

urban_biker

• " . . .we all ended up here and like lads in the back of a Nova we sort of egged each other on...."
  • Known in the real world as Dave
« Reply #3 on: 19 May, 2012, 06:58:43 pm »