Author Topic: Cheap Tent  (Read 3809 times)

Cheap Tent
« on: 23 July, 2008, 09:06:52 pm »
Can anyone recommend a cheap 2 person tent. Only need it for one night. I have had a look at those pop up tents. What they are like? Are they waterproof?

Re: Cheap Tent
« Reply #1 on: 23 July, 2008, 09:15:15 pm »
Just about any of the packages from Millets, Halfords etc will be suitable for one night.

Are they waterproof? The fabric should be, depends how well the seams are sealed. At less than £50 for a tent, mats and sleeping bags you shouldn't expect Northface quality.  You could but the sleeping bag inside a big black bin bag just in case.  Should keep you dry and help build up a good sweat as well.

Sadly I have no personal experience of these packages but they do have some appeal for a night or short weekend.

Martin

« Reply #2 on: 23 July, 2008, 09:22:25 pm »
Can anyone recommend a cheap 2 person tent. Only need it for one night. I have had a look at those pop up tents. What they are like? Are they waterproof?

The pop up tents are very easy to assemble; almost as easy to put back together once you are confident that it won't snap; no idea how waterproof they are I only used it in France.

Some of the cheap tents didn't used to have very waterproof seams.

Valiant

• aka Sam
    • Radiance Audio
« Reply #3 on: 24 July, 2008, 12:29:44 am »
a cheap tent kit from halfords will do you for one night. But that said you can pick up a semi decent Vango 2 berth for around £40.
You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say will be misquoted, then used against you.

Support Equilibrium

Wascally Weasel

• Slayer of Dragons and killer of threads.
« Reply #4 on: 24 July, 2008, 11:33:15 am »
(A bit OT but funny) Ms Weasel in the past edited some of those 'Stupid Signs' books you've probably seen, or had examples of emailed to you.  One of her favourites was a sale sign in a camping store:

"Now is the winter of our discount tents"