Author Topic: Eye strain - will close-up work damage my eyes?  (Read 2225 times)

mattc

• n.b. have grown beard since photo taken
    • Didcot Audaxes
Eye strain - will close-up work damage my eyes?
« on: 23 August, 2017, 10:56:58 pm »
I've been working in a high detail manufacturing role for 3 years, and I now have some big decisions to make about what direction to go in. One aspect is whether eye strain can accelerate the normal degradation of eyesight.

What is the current science/group-think??
Has never ridden RAAM
---------
No.11  Because of the great host of those who dislike the least appearance of "swank " when they travel the roads and lanes. - From Kuklos' 39 Articles

hellymedic

• Just do it!
Re: Eye strain - will close-up work ddamage my eyes?
« Reply #1 on: 23 August, 2017, 11:25:24 pm »
I don't think close work changes an ageing process!
Kids who do much close work and don't play outdoors much have a greater incidence of short-sightedness.
Folk who don't do close work tend to get reading specs later, just because they have less need for them.
You WILL need reading specs, just like your hair WILL go grey (unless you die first).
Reading specs will make you feel MUCH more comfortable.

Get your eyes optimally corrected for close up, intermediate and distance and get them checked frequently.

Varifocals don't suit everyone and lack of vertical pitch for optimal correction can be troublesome if you have a large field of view.

arabella

• عربللا
  • onwendeð wyrda gesceaft weoruld under heofonum
Re: Eye strain - will close-up work damage my eyes?
« Reply #2 on: 24 August, 2017, 07:21:28 pm »
There's some small print for (bi or) varifocals if you are using a screen that's stright in front of you (in case that's what you mean by close up).

Varifocals assume that looking straight ahead means you are looking into the far distance and that when you are doing close up work then you will be looking down.  So VDU use does not go well with varifocals.