Author Topic: Tandem Fit  (Read 2349 times)

Chris S

Tandem Fit
« on: 09 May, 2013, 07:10:56 pm »
Spawned from here:

https://yacf.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=67258.msg1479338#msg1479338

I'm intrigued by this. I think getting a tandem to fit well is actually quite hard. By "fit", I mean well enough for long distance, and that's a big ask, even on a bike that isn't a compromise between two people. I think it's particularly hard to do for long distance because you've got to get a setup that's sustainably comfortable for two people, on the same bike.

I'm no expert by any means, but given a fixed (within limits) wheelbase, there's finite room in the space between the two wheels to get both positions "right" for each other.

We were very fortunate with the Longstaff; it was basically "our size" from the outset - that is to say, we could get positions that broadly "worked" for each of us, from that frame. It's a much more aggressive position for me, over or even forward of the front BB, much more head down, and "racier". We both still have a few bugs that need ironing out, even after over 5,000km of riding (I get neck pain - from that racier position, and am developing new muscles in my legs, fboab gets numb hands) but we're pretty close. My setup was invented from scratch because the previous tandem (the Swallow) was too big for me at the front, whereas fboab's setup was just right, and Bev and Lance at Longstaff's spent a  whole afternoon translating her setup from the Swallow to the Longstaff.

Whilst I think it's possible to walk into a shop and buy an off-the-shelf solo bike and get a decent enough fit for long distance, I don't think that's anywhere near as likely for a tandem.

marcusjb

• Full of bon courage.
Re: Tandem Fit
« Reply #1 on: 09 May, 2013, 07:27:30 pm »
Definitely agree it is harder.

Our tandem is a touch too large really - I am pretty comfy on it, but Cass can not get it right - we've arsed about with stems, bars, saddles, the lot really.