Author Topic: Any ideas for a new cycling app / electronic gadget?  (Read 1654 times)

Any ideas for a new cycling app / electronic gadget?
« on: 28 September, 2020, 02:02:34 pm »
This doesn't quite seem to fit into either the computing or the GPS sections so it's going here.
I'm a retired comuter engineer who needs a new 'hobby' project to keep me busy, since my travels this year have been curtailed. I have experience in designing small battery-operated devices (e.g. tiny dataloggers) and have recently designed a few simple smartphone apps (a couple of which 'talk' to the other devices via bluetooth, and store data on a remote server). One of these tracks my position while I'm out riding, and enables my other half to see where I am at any time (yes I know this has now been done loads, but I wrote it ages ago and at least I can keep my data private!).
I'm after ideas for something cycling-related which hasn't been 'done' already - could be a gadget, or an app, or even a cycling website. Ideally it wouldn't depend on 3rd-party devices (e.g. Garmins) which can change quickly. If a smartphone app it would ned to be Android in the first instance (if it became popular I could  spend some money getting set up for iPhone.)
So, what's your wishlist?

Re: Any ideas for a new cycling app / electronic gadget?
« Reply #1 on: 28 September, 2020, 02:50:03 pm »
Extending your personal GPS tracker in which you keep the data private would be nice. Some means of logging distance ridden over a ride/week/year and knowing how far a particular bike/equipment/wheelset etc has travelled for servicing purposes. With some kind of backup output file for storage on a home computer/cloud service