Author Topic: Fuji S9600 - Limit?  (Read 3984 times)

Valiant

• aka Sam
    • Radiance Audio
Fuji S9600 - Limit?
« on: 21 August, 2008, 07:32:00 pm »

So over the last few days I've been getting to know my new camera, tis a Fuji S9600 Bridge camera, and I have to say I am muchly impressed by it, it was a replacement for me Fuji 58000 which I managed to loose. It's hard not to take good photos with this thing, I reminds me of my old P200 which was a point and shoot that took some amazing photos, this camera is almost as easy to use but takes better photos.

Anyways, I have noticed something though, it's a 9MP camera, with what I'm led to believe is fairly decent innards. When I take photos, they look amazing at screen size, but at 100% they look a mess. I'm not good at saying what I mean but I'll post up photos in a few seconds to show what I mean. Is it a limitation of the camera, or jpg compression? Will it be better in RAW?

Scaled down 9MP image.

Section at 100% of 9MP

It's worse in black and white on the camera :( which I don't understand.

Scaled down 9MP B&W

Section at 100%. How the fook can it be worse then colour?

Scaled down 6MP image

Section at 150ish%. It still looks better than the 9MP B&W
You have the right to remain silent. Anything you say will be misquoted, then used against you.

Support Equilibrium

Re: Fuji S9600 - Limit?
« Reply #1 on: 21 August, 2008, 08:42:05 pm »
I decided to have a nose at the EXIF data and according to that the camera is a nikon D50 slr ???

Biggsy

• A bodge too far
  • Twit @iceblinker
    • My stuff on eBay
« Reply #2 on: 21 August, 2008, 10:43:02 pm »
Reducing the size of a picture increases the apparent quality of the detail - because you don't see the detail!

The colour 100% crop is very good.  You can't complain at that.

I don't know why the b&w one is worse.  Something got messed up.

RAW is better than JPEG for post processing as it contains far more data to play with.

Anyway, stunning pics and model!