Author Topic: Carradice fabrics  (Read 6107 times)

Carradice fabrics
« on: 23 May, 2017, 08:26:29 am »
I'm curious about the fabrics used by Carradice. I bought the carradry bar bag because it looked a cheaper version of the Ortlieb bar bags but with more capacity for the money and that light bracket underneath. Fiddly to open and close so not a big fan.

I'm not a fan of their old school style, but I am interested in a dry bag for the top of the rack that they do. The trouble is I've no experience of proofed cotton that they use and claim to be waterproof. Is it?
http://www.carradice.co.uk/bags/rack-packs-stuff-sacks/super-c-maxi-stuffsack

Should I just get an Ortlieb to go with my panniers since I trust Ortlieb fabrics. I own an Ortlieb heavyweight drybag in a very large size for other uses. I could get a smaller one for touring.

Re: Carradice fabrics
« Reply #1 on: 23 May, 2017, 08:30:09 am »
No, the cotton duck isn't waterproof. They are lying, and the thousands of people who have been using it for decades only use it because they are sad deluded hipsters. Or maybe it is a conspiracy (like the moon landings).

Of course it is waterproof.

Do you think they would have had a successful business using the same fabric for so long if it didn't work?
<i>Marmite slave</i>

« Reply #2 on: 23 May, 2017, 08:34:33 am »
Whatever happened to " be excellent to each other"?

That was a  caustic response to a simple question.

Cudzoziemiec

• Ride adventurously and stop for a brew.
« Reply #3 on: 23 May, 2017, 08:55:09 am »
I also bought a Carradry bar bag for the exact same reasons. And I have various items of Carradice cotton canvas. It's not only waterproof it's also incredibly hard wearing.
Riding a concrete path through the nebulous and chaotic future.

LEE

• "Shut Up Jens" - Legs.
« Reply #4 on: 23 May, 2017, 09:02:25 am »