Author Topic: JTek 11 Lever  (Read 1537 times)

clarion

• Tyke
JTek 11 Lever
« on: 03 November, 2017, 11:56:25 am »
Of all the things which I thought might cause me difficulties in the build of my Peregrine, I never thought that I would have been defeated by the threading of a cable through a lever!

The instructions which come with the lever show the alignment of the hole as tangential to the body of the lever, but the diagram is clearly of a JTek 8, which is smaller.

It appears the JTek 11 shares the same mounting, but a different sized lever body, meaning the cable has to magically make its way round a corner just out of sight.

There is no obvious way of dismantling the lever mechanism, and I am somewhat wary of doing so.

Experience/ideas? 

Help!  :( :-[ :(
Getting there...

Re: JTek 11 Lever
« Reply #1 on: 03 November, 2017, 12:03:35 pm »
I have no experience of that particular model, but I have had problems in the past with other brands.

My solution has always been to make a cup of tea and then start prodding randomly. Eventually your cable will slide in nicely with a very satisfying result.

Hope that helps  :P
Those wonderful norks are never far from my thoughts, oh yeah!

« Reply #2 on: 03 November, 2017, 12:06:03 pm »
Go do something else and come back to it. These things sort themselves out.

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
« Reply #3 on: 03 November, 2017, 12:15:33 pm »
If it's anything like making a cable go round a corner out of sight on a twist shifter, the trick seems to be to put a slight kink about 1cm from the end of the cable, feed it with a twisting motion, and harsh language.

« Reply #4 on: 03 November, 2017, 01:56:30 pm »
a suggested route that might work for you;

1) move the lever until it is mid-stroke
2) feed the cable through the hole in the lever and pull it through
3) put a kink in the end as per a suggestion above
4) thread the cable through the hole in the shifter body

hth

cheers

PaulF

• "World's Scariest Barman"