Author Topic: 44/12 double chain ring  (Read 3053 times)

44/12 double chain ring
« on: 13 January, 2018, 04:11:22 pm »
Hi. I am new to YACF and need you guys to help me with this.
Anybody know where I can get an oddball like this?

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
Re: 44/12 double chain ring
« Reply #1 on: 13 January, 2018, 04:21:08 pm »
I've read this a couple of times and I'll need you to use smaller words. I don't know what you are looking for.
Wheel meet again, don't know where, don't know when...

« Reply #2 on: 13 January, 2018, 06:53:30 pm »
I'm a non-gear user, but would a thing like that even work?

Quote from: tiermat
that's not science, it's semantics.

« Reply #3 on: 13 January, 2018, 06:59:14 pm »
I've read this a couple of times and I'll need you to use smaller words. I don't know what you are looking for.

The impossible, I think.

Samuel D

« Reply #4 on: 13 January, 2018, 07:06:38 pm »
It might be a typo for 22 since it only occurs once. Even that is a bad idea, though perhaps doable.

If it’s an advert for “IBEX BIKES” we may never know.

hellymedic

• Just do it!
« Reply #5 on: 13 January, 2018, 07:41:25 pm »
If it's a typo for 44/32, I suggest posting in 'Wanted'.

As it is. I don't think I've come across such very small chain rings; they strike me as technically challenging but I am no engineer.

« Reply #6 on: 13 January, 2018, 09:32:50 pm »
When I was a young schoolboy many decades ago I had a 44/24 set-up maded up for me by a friendly metalwork teacher. It was on cottered cranks with a 24t sprocket brazed onto the crank spider using a 14t sprocket as a spacer. This was in the era before mtbs. It worked ok but I had to take the roller off the front mech cage and changing between rings could only be done on the three lower sprockets at the back as on the top two the chain ran below the cage (the mech was a Benelux transvers piston type with a short cage). I think 44/12 would test the limits of the mechs a bit too much