Author Topic: Training before breakfast?  (Read 4968 times)

Training before breakfast?
« on: 25 November, 2015, 06:28:56 pm »
I need to find time to ride that does not eat into family time or work time... I'm thinking 05:30-06:30 could work for me, but there would not be time to eat (anything significant) beforehand.  I'm an Audax plodder looking for speed/power improvements so sometimes it'd be tempo work, sometimes 5min intervals, and sometimes short 30second intervals.

What's the general opinion?  Should I...
Take on some simple carbs before riding?
Take on some simple carbs during the workout?
Try to ride sans-food?
Sod it & stay in bed?

Re: Training before breakfast?
« Reply #1 on: 25 November, 2015, 07:13:32 pm »
Ok I am a hand surgeon so no dietary knowledge except a very real interest in food.

Your body does seem to have 2 main substrates that it can utilise for energy.  Carbohydrate or fat.  Carbohydrate = Glycogen and fat=ketones.

For long distance or long duration (>1hour) then ketones and fat metabolism is the better route.  However most of us in the west are used to feeding ourselves with levels of carbohydrate which have very rarely ever been available before.

Working out fasted forces our bodies to use the fat burning route.

Every cell has a series of receptors and pathways for different things, if you do not use a pathway very much the body will not waste energy making the receptors, etc needed.

So I would definitely say workout fasted.

One small tip I have come across recently is to have a small amount of protein before getting on the bike so that it is ready and present as soon as the muscles start looking for it at about the 45 minute stage and then the extra afterwards.

I have no idea how old you are but I have found the book "fast after 50" by Joe Friel on the feeding and energy side of things fairly close to what I believe is best sports science dietetics. 

Feanor

• It's mostly downhill from here.