Author Topic: Re-stitching saddlebag  (Read 1942 times)

Re-stitching saddlebag
« on: 10 September, 2015, 03:55:24 pm »
The stitching has come away on my topeak saddle bag and it is now out of warranty.

Before I go and buy a new one I was wondering if anyone could advise if it's repairable?  No idea how easy these things are to re-stitch and I'm a total amateur with a needle and thread.

Advice welcome!

Here's the problem:

Up the hills and round the bends

Re: Re-stitching saddlebag
« Reply #1 on: 10 September, 2015, 04:04:14 pm »
Use contact adhesive ? A 600km Audax badge and adhesive repaired my carradice  ;D
....after the `tarte de pommes`, and  fortified by a couple of shots of limoncellos,  I flew up the Col de Bavella whilst thunderstorms rolled around the peaks above

« Reply #2 on: 10 September, 2015, 04:05:46 pm »
Use contact adhesive ? A 600km Audax badge and adhesive repaired my carradice  ;D

I was thinking of araldite, just never used it on fabric before.  If you say it works well I shall give it a go!

« Reply #3 on: 10 September, 2015, 04:09:20 pm »
The stitching has come away on my topeak saddle bag and it is now out of warranty.

Before I go and buy a new one I was wondering if anyone could advise if it's repairable?  No idea how easy these things are to re-stitch and I'm a total amateur with a needle and thread.

Advice welcome!

Here's the problem:

Hi jh.  The material that the bag and the strap/straps is made from will not tolerate hand stitching/sewing work.  It is something that would need to be put onto an industrial sewing machine.  To carry out the repair correctly,the lining on the lid would need to be picked -undone and then sewn back into place.

A quick and just as affective repair could probably be carried out by machining straight through the lid & the lining BUT it could restrict the use of any pockets/compartments that are sewn into the lid.