General Category > On The Road

Ministers to consult on doubling legal wattage of electric bike motors

(1/13) > >>

Afasoas:
Guardian article

--- Quote ---The Department for Transport will launch the consultation on Thursday, the Guardian understands, which will propose changing the maximum allowable power of an e-bike motor from 250w to 500w.

Another possible move would allow e-bikes to be powered by a throttle, like a motorbike. Currently, they must be pedalled for the electric motor to start working.

--- End quote ---

The cynic in me thinks that the DfT has no intention of enacting this, but is dredging it up to stoke anti-cycling sentiment as part of the ongoing culture war.
I've no experience of e-bikes so I can't possibly comment on whether or not it is wise to double the legal limit on power output. Although 500W seems like a lot. With that much power and a throttle, we're effectively talking about speed restricted electric mopeds?

DuncanM:
I don't get it.  250W is plenty for 99% of cyclists, and 15mph means that you still can't keep up with traffic. Feels to me like they are fixing the wrong one.

Regulator:

--- Quote from: Afasoas on 29 February, 2024, 10:20:44 am ---Guardian article

--- Quote ---The Department for Transport will launch the consultation on Thursday, the Guardian understands, which will propose changing the maximum allowable power of an e-bike motor from 250w to 500w.

Another possible move would allow e-bikes to be powered by a throttle, like a motorbike. Currently, they must be pedalled for the electric motor to start working.

--- End quote ---

The cynic in me thinks that the DfT has no intention of enacting this, but is dredging it up to stoke anti-cycling sentiment as part of the ongoing culture war.