Author Topic: Chapati  (Read 2261 times)

Gattopardo

• Lord of the sith
  • Overseaing the building of the death star
Chapati
« on: 17 July, 2014, 10:33:00 pm »
Right, I have purchased a 10 kilo bag of chapati flour for the amazing sum of £3

So the first recipe that I will try is : http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/chapatis_77146

First impressions are that it feels like I'm making glue and it seems to stick to my fingers and bowl.  Am going to let the 'dough' sit for about 45mins..ok while I listen to the news quiz extra.  Then I shall attempt to make 12 balls and then flatten them out and then fry the bread.

Wish me luck.

Re: Chapati
« Reply #1 on: 17 July, 2014, 10:47:57 pm »
Many years ago, when I was a student, I watched Asian friends flattening the dough by hand, tossing it from hand to hand until it was wafer thin, then deftly turning it over a bare gas ring. I had moderate success trying to copy them.

Gattopardo

• Lord of the sith
« Reply #2 on: 18 July, 2014, 12:14:27 am »
Ok I cheated and sprayed my hands with oil before rolling the mix in to balls.  Then rolled the balls in flour before rolling out thin.

This is really easy, must be the bread making experience, rolled thin the mix turns out some crispy thin chapati's.  Adding a few infused oils seems to make the chapattis even more awesome.

It is my new thing....well until I have consumed 10kg of flour.

Eccentrica Gallumbits

• Rock 'n' roll and brew, rock 'n' roll and brew...
« Reply #3 on: 18 July, 2014, 07:50:09 am »
If you don't want the dough to stick to your hands, dust them with flour, not oil.
My feminist marxist dialectic brings all the boys to the yard.

levitator

« Reply #4 on: 19 July, 2014, 12:38:14 pm »
I've been making chapattis for years, usually use ordinary wholemeal flour because we don't often have chapatti flour in although chapatti flour is probably better.