Author Topic: Spoke tension meters / gauges - recommendations?  (Read 1302 times)

Spoke tension meters / gauges - recommendations?
« on: 08 January, 2022, 10:46:47 am »
A friend would like to borrow my jig and asked about a spoke tension meter.  Only ever being an amateur builder I do not have one.  Is there any value in buying a Park Tools TM-1 or would the panel recommend any other brand and / or model.   

I'd like to get something of decent quality and reliability though of course paying through the nose unnecessarily seems pointless too.

Experiences of any product most welcome.

Thanks.

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
Re: Spoke tension meters / gauges - recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: 08 January, 2022, 10:55:32 am »
I have used several tensiometers over the years but now use an app.
https://yacf.co.uk/forum/index.php?topic=117807
Wheel meet again, don't know where, don't know when...

« Reply #2 on: 08 January, 2022, 11:42:48 am »
Wow - that app is cool, I'll def try that for the next wheel I build.

I have the Park meter which works ok as far as I can tell (none of the wheels I have built using it have ever failed so I assume it works  ;)).

« Reply #3 on: 08 January, 2022, 11:58:43 am »
Thanks for that.  There is an Android version of the app.  I'll look into it but I am still interested in mechanical gauge recommendations please.

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
« Reply #4 on: 08 January, 2022, 12:25:49 pm »