Author Topic: Been using the search but.... [Al frames / tyre pressure]  (Read 3097 times)

Vava

Been using the search but.... [Al frames / tyre pressure]
« on: 20 July, 2009, 07:51:54 pm »
noob here please forgive - two things-

I got 'richards bike book' today and have been perusing - says in there that aluminium frames last 3 to 5 years - didn't realise this - what would I look for on the frame to know if it is still safe as I recently bought a racer and I don't know how old it is? ::-) It is an Orbea sport larreau.

second - I got a tyre pressure guage from halfords and blew up the tyre to 80psi - it should  have been 100 psi and within 5 minutes the inner tube split grr. Husband got the last laugh as he said you don't need a guage you can do it by feel but that is not helpful to a noob as I dont know what the right pressure feels like - thats why I bought the guage to get the right pressure and then feel it so that I could recognise it in future! Thanks in advance for any help. ;D

Biggsy

• A bodge too far
  • Twit @iceblinker
    • My stuff on eBay
Re: Been using the search but....
« Reply #1 on: 20 July, 2009, 08:25:09 pm »
Sounds like old advice.  How old is the book?  Most aluminium frames are built with fat and thick tubing that will last many years if not a lifetime.  I don't know your particular bike, though.

You're right that a pressure gauge is good for newbies (and convenient for anyone if it's built into the pump).  Sounds like the tyre or tube wasn't fitted properly or was faulty.  Just try again with another tube.  Inflate to the recommended pressure marked on the tyres if in doubt.  You can deviate from this once you have more experience.  It's a good idea to have the front tyre a bit softer than the rear as it takes less weight.
●●●  My eBay items  ●●●  Twitter  ●●●

Re: Been using the search but....
« Reply #2 on: 20 July, 2009, 08:34:38 pm »
Sounds like old advice.  How old is the book?