Author Topic: Zwift / Smart Trainer Questions  (Read 1799 times)

dim

Zwift / Smart Trainer Questions
« on: 15 May, 2017, 11:25:58 am »
I finally pulled the trigger today, and have ordered a Smart Trainer. I really wanted the Tacx Neo, but ended up buying a Tacx Vortex Smart from Wiggle instead. If all goes well, I will sell it after a few months, after I save up some more, and get the Tacx Neo or Wahoo Kickr or similar.

It will be connected to Zwift, and I have a few questions. Both my son and I will be using Zwift, and we will be using 2 different bikes. We will each have our own Zwift account, so that we can connect to Strava (we both have premium Strava)

How easy is it to switch bikes and profiles on the system, and do we have to callibrate the bikes every time we want to use the smart trainer? .... any other advice will be appreciated (I'm a noob when it comes to high tech gadgets)  :-[
“No great mind has ever existed without a touch of madness.” - Aristotle

Re: Zwift / Smart Trainer Questions
« Reply #1 on: 15 May, 2017, 11:27:49 am »
You clearly need to buy two Neo's so you can race side by side - cheapskate....

:)

Answer is I'm not sure, but I suspect that provided you have your own Zwift accounts all will be well.

« Reply #2 on: 15 May, 2017, 01:07:29 pm »
This might get more replies in the training sub board.

so long as you both have your own Zwift accounts I do not think you will have problems with the sensors or software.  You may have problems with setting the pressure of the wheel every time. So you will need an easily accessible pump to get a constant pressure.

If you and your son are similar height could you buy a cheap steel frame and put it on the turbo, even if you have to adjust the saddle?  This would be much easier than changing bikes.

I find that turbo usage is about making it easy to use with no temptation to not use it.  But then I accept that I lack moral fibre!

dim

« Reply #3 on: 15 May, 2017, 08:34:32 pm »