Author Topic: Bottom bracket - chainset recommendations please  (Read 1513 times)

eck

• Gonna ride my bike until I get home...
    • Angus Bike Chain CC
Bottom bracket - chainset recommendations please
« on: 29 October, 2017, 06:14:13 pm »
Being a bit of a luddite, I'm new to the wacky world of press-fit bottom brackets, and have just bought a frame that needs a BB86.

Now then, I've always been loyal to Campag, but am somewhat deterred by reading about various "issues" that folk have had with their Power-Torque and Ultra-Torque systems.

Can anyone recommend any other decent BB - chainset combination, of about equivalent to Campag Potenza / Chorus levels?  Or are the Campag systems just as good as any out there?

Thanks
It's a bit weird, but actually quite wonderful.

Re: Bottom bracket - chainset recommendations please
« Reply #1 on: 29 October, 2017, 07:07:09 pm »
My view is that it’s the bracket, not the chainset that’s the big thing to get right.

Getting a reliable, non-creaking bottom bracket is possible, but spendy ( usually £100+++)

The really reliable make is C-Bear from Belgium ( he does all the Lotto and other pro team bearings) . Praxis Works and some others fit slightly below in quality and cost. He certainly caters for Campagnolo chainsets as that is what Lotto are on.

C-Bear is very responsive to enquiries, and his web site will guide which bracket for which chainset on which bracket fitting.

« Reply #2 on: 29 October, 2017, 08:54:03 pm »
I’ve just put in a PF c-bear into a Cervelo S3. Apparently it will stop all the issues. I’ll report how I get on in the next few weeks.

eck

• Gonna ride my bike until I get home...
    • Angus Bike Chain CC
« Reply #3 on: 26 November, 2017, 08:23:21 am »
Resurrection: Thanks for the tips. I'm afraid I just can't bring myself to like the current design of Campag chainsets, so I'm leaning towards one of the Praxis models, eg this one: https://praxiscycles.com/product/zayante-m30/ with their own bottom bracket.