Author Topic: Will £150 get a better bike than £100?  (Read 6344 times)

Comstock

Will £150 get a better bike than £100?
« on: 30 December, 2009, 02:03:49 pm »
Hi guys. First up, I'm brand new on the forum, so I may well have posted this in the wrong place. Apologies if that is the case.

I'm perhaps one notch up from a total newbie. I ride a bike because I can't afford a car, journies of between 1 and 5 miles max. My Raleigh Raven is finally knackered after 15 years good service, and it's time for a new bike.

I've heard terrible things about sub £100 bikes (BSOs as you call them). Would £150 get me anything better? Or would I be better  keeping the extra 50 quid in my pocket ? (for repairs to my BSO perhaps!?)
regards

Paul

Re: Will £150 get a better bike than £100?
« Reply #1 on: 30 December, 2009, 02:15:16 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

Unfortunately that question really is the same as "how long is a piece of string?"

The best place to start is to look at the type of cycling you do (utility/racing/off-road/etc) and then look at the bikes best suited to that. 

There's enough helpful folk on here that will probably help you find the best bike at the best price.

« Reply #2 on: 30 December, 2009, 02:17:56 pm »
Paul,
if you are after a value for money bike give Decathlon a thought.
They have some pretty decent 'town bikes' as they describe them, at around that value.
Depends where you live I suppose - if you are nowhere near a branch then they're less interesting!
Here they are:
Decathlon - HYBRID BIKES - Hybrid Bikes - Bikes - Cycle

If you let us know the area you live in maybe you'll get some directions to a decent bike shop, or somewhere that recycles bikes.
I would also suggest joining your local Freecycle list and just asking for a bike.

« Reply #3 on: 30 December, 2009, 02:24:16 pm »
I doubt it would make much difference. You'll probably just get a few extra gears and add ons.