Author Topic: Brakes on tourers, how much better are discs?  (Read 1765 times)

Brakes on tourers, how much better are discs?
« on: 24 January, 2017, 01:19:02 pm »
Just seen a nice looking tourer but it has rim braking. I've been using disc brakes for a few years now and since starting touring last year appreciate the stopping power. Using bb7s right now and whilst not as good as previous hydraulics they do stop even a fully loaded bike/trailer combo down steep hills.

The old road bike i had ended up accelerating down a very steep hill once when not even loaded. New brake blocks needed for sure but discs would have been needed if fully loaded on that hill.

So my question is, should i write off a decent bike because b of rim braking?

Bike was a £1200 cinelli hobootleg bike. It looked and sounded a good bike for touring and faster, unloaded riding or commuting. It has Tekro 992AG Cantilever brakes and Alex rims. I bet others will come back saying spa tourer costs that and is better, or other bike. It's just that I liked the whole look of it and the spec too except for the braking solution.

Karla

• car(e) free
    • Lost Byway - around the world by bike
Re: Brakes on tourers, how much better are discs?
« Reply #1 on: 24 January, 2017, 01:36:11 pm »
Get it and you'll be that rare thing: a cycle-tourist with a sense of style  :thumbsup:

There are plenty of ways to improve the braking over the stock cantis

1) If you want to use brifters, get some TRP CX9 mini Vs.  Although not as good as a pair of hydraulic discs, they're better than the standard Tektro mini Vs or any cantis I've used.  I'll be running these on a loaded tourer this year.

2) Assuming you're going to stick with the bar end shifters, just fit a decent pair of full-size Vs.  Tektro RL520 levers are about £15 a pair and Avid SD5s are about £12 a pop these days, so this would be a cheap and simple upgrade to the bike.