Author Topic: A Cumbrian & southern Scotland mini tour  (Read 1639 times)

αdαmsκι

• Instagram @ucfaaay Strava @ucfaaay
  • Look haggard. It sells.
A Cumbrian & southern Scotland mini tour
« on: 25 August, 2010, 08:37:30 pm »
Monday

I'd arranged to ride with Pippa from Kendal to Hawick on her End to End. Now the sensible option would be to take the train to Kendal, cycle to Hawick with Pippa and then head down to Carlisle or Lockerbie and jump on another train. Instead I decided to turn this into a mini tour. Mini in the sense of only going away for one night, rather than distance. Around 03h45 on Monday morning the alarm clock was going and I crawled back under the duvet. It was still dark and I was tired, but I knew Pippa would be waiting for me in Kendal so I dragged myself out of bed. I'd already sorted out my stuff the previous night, so after some breakfast I was on the road to Kendal. It was still dark and initially I didn't have any motivation. As I started riding I perked up, and also woke up. The main road was empty and dawn started appearing over the Cumbrian fells, which was beautiful.