Author Topic: Thank you all  (Read 8431 times)

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
Thank you all
« on: 28 October, 2018, 11:51:14 am »
Yesterdays 200 told me that age and a shortage of miles in the legs meant that i was no longer enjoying my audax rides.

So this post is a huge thank you to all the organisers and volunteers who over the last 15 years have given me immense pleasure from my rides. There will be no more audax rides.

I rest content with my memories .. 2PBP, LEL, PAP, 11 RRTY , Vets Champ and most distinctive ( maybe unique ) 10 SRs starting when I was 65.

So if you contributed in any way to this list .. you have my immense gratitude for your efforts.

I will continue to repay the audax community in a small way by doing the finance for LEL 2021.. and believe it or not  work has already started .... so see some of you at the start in due course.

Roger
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

whosatthewheel

Re: Thank you all
« Reply #1 on: 28 October, 2018, 12:54:47 pm »
Yesterdays 200 told me that age and a shortage of miles in the legs meant that i was no longer enjoying my audax rides.

It seems a bit of a rushed decision... it was cold... who enjoys a 200 when it's 4 degrees, other than the more masochistic side of AUK?

Personally, I pack up in Late September and generally don't ride another BR until March, if not April.

I'd rather enjoy than endure...

« Reply #2 on: 28 October, 2018, 01:12:38 pm »
Roger is in his mid-70s (I think!), so it's hardly likely to be a snap decision.

Thanks for all your work, Roger, and your palmares are indeed impressive!

« Reply #3 on: 28 October, 2018, 01:13:27 pm »
That's an impressive list of achievements  :thumbsup: Certainly nothing left to prove which must take some of the challenge out of it.
Hope you find something which offers you the same pleasure.  If you find yourself missing the rides but not the physical challenge, there's always the option of BPs with elec assist.