Author Topic: Metabike recumbent  (Read 3507 times)

waxer

Metabike recumbent
« on: 02 August, 2009, 08:48:34 pm »
i have just been over to france and saw a spanish METABIKE recumbent that the owner rides around the area of mont ventoux, i was really interested in in this bent and was wondering if anyone in the UK has one and how they find it to ride. my present bent is a bacchetta corsa which i use for audaxing and was wondering if the metabike would make a good audax machine.

cheers
waxer

Re: METABIKE RECUMBENT
« Reply #1 on: 02 August, 2009, 09:03:52 pm »
i have just been over to france and saw a spanish METABIKE recumbent that the owner rides around the area of mont ventoux, i was really interested in in this bent and was wondering if anyone in the UK has one and how they find it to ride. my present bent is a bacchetta corsa which i use for audaxing and was wondering if the metabike would make a good audax machine.

I've had no experience with a Metabike, but just looking at the web site I'd say it would be fine for audax riding. Most definitely not a heavy touring bike.

How much more performance you'd be getting over the Corsa though is hard to speculate. And the dealership in the UK looks non-existent according to their web-site. Next time you're in France you'll have to try one :-)
Garry Broad

Re: Metabike recumbent
« Reply #2 on: 03 August, 2009, 09:42:07 am »
I rode one briefly at the Spezi this year... I can't say I liked it - the handling felt very odd; twitchy, very sensitive to handlebar input , etc. A number of people I spoke to made similar comments.

However, 'bents are a very personal thing, and often take a bit of getting used to, so it's well worth a test ride. It certainly felt comfortable enough for long days.
Life is too important to be taken seriously.

Tiger

« Reply #3 on: 04 August, 2009, 12:06:44 pm »
Just looking at it - the front end looks like it will need a lot of attention.

« Reply #4 on: 09 August, 2009, 05:13:26 pm »