Author Topic: Taking children out on school trips. (Moan)  (Read 5886 times)

gordon taylor

Taking children out on school trips. (Moan)
« on: 28 April, 2008, 09:27:12 pm »
I'm taking ten twelve-year-olds out tomorrow morning to a "Maths Puzzle Activity" at the local university - organised by their staff. We're going in the school minibus, I'm a qualified driver, the campus is three miles away and this "broadening horizons" event is wholly within school hours. I've done these events before, the children will have a great time; it's a valuable experience for all concerned.

The paperwork is ridiculous. Each parent/carer has had to complete two sides of an A4 permission slip and medical form. I also have nine different forms to complete, covering:

School permission
Learning objectives, including links to the National Curriculum, the Numeracy Strategy and god knows what else.
Risk Assessment (site)
Risk assessment (travel)
Inclusion (so I don't choose all the pleasant children)
Lesson cover plans (three sides of A4 x 3)
Finance (nil) and contingency (nil.) I'll top up the tank myself to save more arseing about.
School canteen notification and student dietry needs assessment.
Student contact details (minimum of two phone numbers)...

Thankfully the university has provided a five-page generic risk assessment for their site, so I just need to photocopy that several times. Unfortunately, the children will be working with volunteer undergraduate students, who haven't been CRB checked, so they obviously need to be accompanied at all times.

I'm close to writing "This is fucking ridiculous" in red felt pen across several pieces of paper tonight.

Thank you for listening.

Re: Taking children out on school trips. (Moan)
« Reply #1 on: 28 April, 2008, 09:43:51 pm »
Well done for sticking with it.
Stropping rocks

« Reply #2 on: 28 April, 2008, 10:21:43 pm »

I'm close to writing "This is fucking ridiculous" in red felt pen across several pieces of paper tonight.