Author Topic: What can I grow on my balcony?  (Read 3184 times)

Pippa

• Busy being fabulous
What can I grow on my balcony?
« on: 04 June, 2011, 09:10:06 pm »
I'd like to try and grow some edible goods on my balcony. I probably have room for about 3 of those rectangular window type boxes and a couple of circular pots. The balcony gets direct sun in the morning and then is in shade in the afternoon.

I'm a gardening novice so don't know what might be appropriate for the space/sun that I have. I spend a lot of money on bagged salad goods like rocket and watercress - might those work?

TIA 

corshamjim

Re: What can I grow on my balcony?
« Reply #1 on: 04 June, 2011, 09:24:09 pm »
Last year we grew carrots, lettuce and perpetual spinach in a tiny part of our garden that gets very little sun.  If you like it then I definitely recommend perpetual spinach - you can just take some leaves off whenever you need some and they go on for ages.

I heard recently you can grow potatoes in a bucket - google it for lots of advice on that.

I've not tried either rocket or watercress myself yet - I believe watercress can be very picky but I doubt rocket would be a problem.

RJ

• Droll rat
« Reply #2 on: 04 June, 2011, 09:26:27 pm »
Rocket and lettuce are easy to grow from seed (or get some small plants from a garden centre/nursery).  Rocket is expensive to buy compared with growing your own.  Try to get loose leaf lettuces and harvest just the leaves you need and let the plants keep on growing.    Watercress is a non-starter, as (commercially) it's grown in special shallowly flooded beds.  You could try other leaves like mizuna - but with limited space I'd go for herbs that go well in salad like chives and parsley.  Supermarket plants will do for these - just put them in a bigger pot with some decent compost.  Keep an eye on the plants and keep them watered, but don't drown them.  Some liquid feed will probably be a good idea.