Author Topic: Dry January 2024  (Read 6206 times)

Basil

• Um....err......oh bugger!
  • Help me!
Dry January 2024
« on: 23 December, 2023, 05:22:48 pm »
Anyone else planning this?
I'm in again.  However, I was a tad disappointed, last year, by the fact that it didn't seem to improve my general health, fitness and mood.

As far as I am concerned, January does not begin until I get up in the morning, so a tipple at midnight for new year will be ok.
Admission.  I'm actually not that fussed about cake.

Paul

• L'enfer, c'est les autos.
Re: Dry January 2024
« Reply #1 on: 24 December, 2023, 12:55:45 pm »
Yes. Though there's a chance that it might turn into a dry year.

(Just typing that makes me a bit anxious)

I've done 3 dry Januarys now, and each successive 11 months I have drunk more than the last (I've been recording my drinking since January 2021). It's clear that even if a month off does me some good that month, it isn't improving things in the medium/long term.

A friend is in the same situation and is going dry for the year. i might join her.
What's so funny about peace, love and understanding?

Basil

• Um....err......oh bugger!
  • Help me!
« Reply #2 on: 01 January, 2024, 08:52:43 am »
Well, I'm still in.
 ;D
Admission.  I'm actually not that fussed about cake.

Paul

« Reply #3 on: 01 January, 2024, 03:41:36 pm »
 Good effort  :thumbsup:

αdαmsκι

• Instagram @ucfaaay Strava @ucfaaay
  • Look haggard. It sells.
« Reply #4 on: 01 January, 2024, 03:44:38 pm »
Yes, but starting on 2nd January and I will continue until a few hours after my mid February marathon😂.
What on earth am I doing here on this beautiful day?! This is the only life I've got!!

https://tyredandhungry.wordpress.com/

citoyen

• Occasionally rides a bike
« Reply #5 on: 01 January, 2024, 03:53:44 pm »
I’m in. Need to a) give my liver a break, and b) stop spending so goddamn much money on alcohol.