Author Topic: small electric woodchipper, would it work?  (Read 6911 times)

small electric woodchipper, would it work?
« on: 23 May, 2017, 11:39:23 am »
I have a long hedge which requires quite a bit of cutting back, pruning it has generated a good deal of smallish woody bits.  I could pay for an annual green waste collection, but I thought that as we use quite a bit of wood chip on the garden anyway I might be able to get a small electric woodchipper, which between the cost of wood chip and green waste would be cost neutral. 
Wondering whether the chipper would work or whether I am likely to produce shredded wood suitable only for composting.  I would value any thoughts you might have.
simplicity, truth, equality, peace

Re: small electric woodchipper, would it work?
« Reply #1 on: 23 May, 2017, 11:42:04 am »
I have no experience of this, but strongly suspect that remarkably little woodchip will be produced from one hedge. Could you borrow one for a test run?
<i>Marmite slave</i>

Aunt Maud

• Le Flâneur.
« Reply #2 on: 23 May, 2017, 11:52:02 am »
I lay all my hedge cuttings in a strip and run over it with the mower. It chops it up nicely, then I add it to the compost.

I've used a small electric chipper before, but found that the mower worked best and neither of them produced anything other than compost quality stuff.

« Reply #3 on: 23 May, 2017, 12:29:41 pm »
I have a small shredder/chipper, but rarely use it. It is fine for longish straightish bits of material, but anything contorted or with side branches is time consuming as it needs to be prepared so much before use.

I am able to take branches and clippings to the allotment to dry off and burn, which is how I get rid of most woody garden waste.
If it ain't broke, fix it 'til it is...

jiberjaber

• ... Fancy Pants \o/ ...
  • ACME S&M^2
« Reply #4 on: 23 May, 2017, 01:51:29 pm »