Author Topic: 0 - 400 in 6 weeks?  (Read 4544 times)

Cycling Daddy

• "We shall have an adventure by and by," said Don Q
Re: 0 - 400 in 6 weeks? Make that 4 weeks...
« Reply #25 on: 22 June, 2014, 07:08:43 am »
Coughs gently and waves hand in air...I am back from managing my son's racing
Hope no one minds  me butting into this thread. 
I have just entered this 400 having been freed of other commitments.  Having weighed up all the options, taken stock of my level of fitness, lack of experience carefully read all the useful messages e.t.c I saw what was sensible and did the opposite.  What I am really after are pointers as to what I should be doing twixt now and the pleasure punishment I have just organised.
I have some experience of long distance walking including 24 hour walks so I have a grip on some of the psychology and am acquainted with sleeping on park benches!!  Sleeping whilst standing up...getting spooked in the hour before dawn etc

1.  I commute with increasing frequency (30kms. each way of stop start (73 traffic lights)  urban roads) and am moving to a 200 km a week base.  Would it be better to do fewer longer rides e.g. 2 x 100?

2.  I have been and will be working on comfort, padded gloves, fat tyres etc. but need to test this on longer distances? (probably answered by 4 and 5)

3.  I know I am slowish especially on hills (up surprisingly) my commute is usually averaged at 20 kph rolling average.  Do I try to improve this?  Is that even possible in 4 weeks? Or do I just trust to my ability to keep going through the night hours.

4.  I have booked for a 160 BP next weekend but  wonder whether to make this a 200??

5.  I was then going to do a 200 on the 5th/6th should I try to make this a 300 e.g. with an 'ECE' as I think it is called

6.  I could do more rides on the 12th and 20th.  but was wondering if I should ease off before the event?  Usually dreadful after an effort but seem to bounce back over a day or two.