Author Topic: Revolution 24  (Read 1742 times)

Revolution 24
« on: 28 December, 2008, 11:26:02 am »
I've never been to the Manc velodrome and I see that Revolution 24 is on Sat 21st of Feb (which is also my erm... 21st birthday  ;) )

Thinking about getting the train up from The South in the morning. What with early booking should be fairly cheap.

Having not been to Manchester for years and only ever been there when extremely drunk as a student, I have a few Qs.

Where is the 'drome? How far from Piccadilly is it? Are there plenty of cheap, trashy hotels nearby? A Travelsludge or some such?

How much are tickets? Can I get pissed whilst ogling girls in lycra?

Oh - if anyone else fancies coming or is already going - give us a shout!

Ta
Those wonderful norks are never far from my thoughts, oh yeah!

dehomag

Re: Revolution 24
« Reply #1 on: 29 December, 2008, 10:52:56 am »
There is a Travelodge very very close to the velodrome. The Travelodge website will help you locate it. Google maps will almost certainly answer your questions about the location of the velodrome. There will probably be a website to tell you about public transport from Piccadilly to the velodrome. The Revolution website will probably tell you about ticket prices. STFW.

robgul

• Cycle:End-to-End webmaster
  • cyclist, Cytech accredited mechanic & woodworker
    • Cycle:End-to-End
« Reply #2 on: 29 December, 2008, 12:49:14 pm »
I already have tickets for 21 Feb ... and will be riding the boards there the week before with a group of pals  ;D

Qs:

It'll take about 30-40 mins to walk from Manchester Piccadilly station to the Velodrome - not the most salubrious of areas to walk through but OK at the time you will be going.

There is a Travelodge that calls itself Sport City but it's beyond walking distance at the time you will be leaving the Velodrome.  I would assume cabs would be lurking at the close of play.