Author Topic: 3D printing help please  (Read 1217 times)

3D printing help please
« on: 18 March, 2021, 09:17:48 am »
I've borrowed my son's 3D printer, an Ai3M, to clear a backlog of jobs I wanted printing.  He said he hadn't been able to get it printing well with the new filament but it seems fine except for one issue.  The supports it prints to enable overhangs and holes to be printed are very difficult / impossible to remove.  This wasn't an issue with the previous filament, I printed an object with the new that had previously been printed with the old to prove it.

It's almost as if the supports are being printed 'properly' rather than 'superficially' and therefore are well attached to the model.

I can't see a setvar in Cura but then again I am a complete novice at this.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Chris N

Re: 3D printing help please
« Reply #1 on: 19 March, 2021, 09:26:13 am »
Are the supports in the same material as the main item, or does it print a second material for the supports?
What material are you using?
Is the machine set to print the right material?
Which version of Cura are you using - is it up to date?
Are the supports created by Cura or are they in the model you are printing?

« Reply #2 on: 19 March, 2021, 09:59:12 am »
Thanks Chris, replies below:

Are the supports in the same material as the main item, or does it print a second material for the supports?
Same material
What material are you using?
Fillamentum PLA
Is the machine set to print the right material?
Generic PLA as there isn't a Fillamemtum PLA profile
Which version of Cura are you using - is it up to date?
Are the supports created by Cura or are they in the model you are printing?
Cura

Just found a support density setting, will try experimenting with that.  Any other suggestions welcome though.

R

Chris N

« Reply #3 on: 19 March, 2021, 10:21:17 am »
Does Cura have a profile for your machine?