Author Topic: Small person on the front  (Read 3720 times)

LEE

• "Shut Up Jens" - Legs.
Small person on the front
« on: 28 November, 2014, 02:49:21 pm »
I know nothing of these beasts but, due to a shoulder injury, my friend is thinking of one for him and his wife.

The problem being that she is short, he is taller, but his wife needs to do the steering part.

It struck me that I've never seen a tandem pair where the smaller rider is on the front.

Is this do-able?
Some people say I'm self-obsessed but that's enough about them.

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
Re: Small person on the front
« Reply #1 on: 28 November, 2014, 02:56:31 pm »
Given the right bike, certainly.

I know the Circe Helios is unusually forgiving of this sort of thing.  There are probably full-size geometries that work well too, though I've no experience of them.

Coupling delta recumbent trikes together is an alternative solution, used to good effect by barakta's blind former colleague and his much smaller wife.  The advantage here is completely independent drivetrains, as well as stability.

Actually, if the issue is a shoulder injury, how about the darkside generally?

Tim Hall

• Victoria is my queen
« Reply #2 on: 28 November, 2014, 03:13:20 pm »
Some friends of mine do this. His visual impairment means steering isn't the best plan for him. She's five feet and a little bit. They've got a a regular tandem or two, with short front end, tall back end and a long seat post (he's 6 feet tall).  At least one of their tandems is a Chas Roberts (I think), so built to order.
There are two ways you can get exercise out of a bicycle: you can
"overhaul" it, or you can ride it.  (Jerome K Jerome)

« Reply #3 on: 28 November, 2014, 03:25:18 pm »
I've taken my mum (we're probably the same weight but she's 5'8" and I'm 5'3").

I think Steve Bateman is taller than Julian Dyson and they manage fine.

You need more upper body strength on a tandem than a solo, and the heavier your stoker the truer that is.