Author Topic: How to enhance smart TV audio without investing mega in surround sound etc?  (Read 2347 times)

slope

• Inclined to distraction
    • Current pedalable joys
67 year old with shot ears from being a sound engineer in the early 70's and then a furniture maker in the late 80s with seriously noisy machines, pre ear defender days. So certain frequencies require tweaking, up and down, to accommodate the irreversible damage.

I have a subscription to Mubi cos I like the kind of films they curate. I have an LG 43UM7400PLB tele (which is visually all I fancy - it's the audio I would like to enhance/have some control over)

Straight away, I added a cheapo £90 JBL soundbar. It sure don't cut no mustard - there's zero control over output dynamics, it's barely an improvement on the LG's internal speakers :(

Have experienced an expensive surround sound with a tele several years ago - BUT that's not what I want to invest in, nor what I want.

Just want a way to add two separate stereo speakers tight along side the tele AND be able to dial in via a graphic equaliser, something that suits my ears - that can deliver spoken words/dialogue in preference to any of that other sound effect stuff.

For me iMac I have a Topping MX3 Dac amp, some cheapo JBL Control One speakers and a Boom3D software graphic equaliser. This just about provides the audio clarity I'm after there.

So the question is - would it be possible to optical out from the LG TV into an amp, that then fed speakers? BUT how could one get some sort of essential graphic equaliser into that?

Any tips or advice would be most welcome :thumbsup:

No idea re the technical stuff, but my ears are "silly" - pre-covid if we went to a restaurant all I could hear was the cutlery many tables away and it drowned out Mrs Nutty's talking to me.  I liked restaurants.