Author Topic: New gps  (Read 23768 times)

New gps
« on: 20 June, 2020, 07:33:51 pm »
Hi all, I'm in the market for a decent cycle GPS. Looking at Satmap active 20 but seems to be so many different bundles I'm confused. All other makes considered. I don't need text alarms strava segments. I'll be using it for navigation only. I'm not good with high tech so simplicity a must. Please help. Thanks
Andy

Re: New gps
« Reply #1 on: 20 June, 2020, 08:12:37 pm »
I’ve not used it, but Garmin Edge Tour would appear to fit the bill?

I’ve got an Edge 1000 that works well, but think the Tour is a bit less expensive.

Karla

• car(e) free
    • Lost Byway - around the world by bike
« Reply #2 on: 20 June, 2020, 10:18:13 pm »
The Edge Touring doesn't exist anymore.  The current version is called the Edge Explore.

« Reply #3 on: 20 June, 2020, 10:31:11 pm »
If you have a smartphone you already have one.  If you don't then a low cost smartphone with a big battery and gps is a much better investment than a cycling specific gps.  Its not compulsory to put a sim in a smartphone.  You **CAN** just use it as a small mobile computer.  No one will complain.  And you get much much much better bang for your buck.

quixoticgeek

• Mostly Harmless
« Reply #4 on: 21 June, 2020, 03:39:07 pm »
If you have a smartphone you already have one.  If you don't then a low cost smartphone with a big battery and gps is a much better investment than a cycling specific gps.  Its not compulsory to put a sim in a smartphone.  You **CAN** just use it as a small mobile computer.  No one will complain.  And you get much much much better bang for your buck.

I'd question this if you ever ride in the rain... Or in really bright sunlight... Or want to use some sensors...

J
--
Beer, bikes, and backpacking
http://b.42q.eu/

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
« Reply #5 on: 21 June, 2020, 03:43:38 pm »