Author Topic: etsy?  (Read 1393 times)

robgul

• Cycle:End-to-End webmaster
  • cyclist, Cytech accredited mechanic & woodworker
    • Cycle:End-to-End
etsy?
« on: 12 January, 2022, 07:58:13 pm »
Does anyone here sell stuff on etsy?

I'm a newbie there and have just sold an item for £145 + £20 postage (it's big!) . . . .  yet there seem to be fees, charged on fees that reduce my net to just £116.   Seems excessive - the terms etc aren't very clear (at least no to me).

If the figures are correct that's the last time I'll use etsy

Re: etsy?
« Reply #1 on: 12 January, 2022, 08:25:20 pm »
I think Finch sells on there.
We are making a New World (Paul Nash, 1918)

« Reply #2 on: 12 January, 2022, 08:29:48 pm »

I sold a badge for £1.96 and seem to have received £1.32

I'm not jumping to re-list (and get charged for) expired listings just yet...

BrianI

• Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's Lepidopterist Man!
« Reply #3 on: 12 January, 2022, 09:16:39 pm »
Apparently NFT's are the big money making scheme nowadays...   ???

quixoticgeek

• Mostly Harmless
« Reply #4 on: 12 January, 2022, 10:59:51 pm »

The fees page suggests:

€0.17 * Listing fee
Listings are active for four months, or until they sell.

5 % Transaction fee, 4% + €0.30 payment processing fee
When you sell an item, there's a small commission and standard payment processing fee.

15% Offsite Ads Fee*
Etsy pays to advertise your items across the web through Offsite Ads. You only pay a fee when you make a sale from one of those ads. Learn more about advertising fees

So your 146 should have been:

7.3 to sell
6.14 for the transaction processing fee.

it looks like the "15% Offsite Ads Fee" is what's killed you, that's 21.9.

So that's 146-7.3-6.14-29.9

So at a guess they apply fees over the whole lot too.