Author Topic: Upgrade from Pentax K100D to?  (Read 2373 times)

BrianI

• Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's Lepidopterist Man!
Upgrade from Pentax K100D to?
« on: 24 September, 2016, 07:38:36 am »
I'm thinking of upgrading my old Pentax k100d DSLR.

I don't have a massive range of lenses, the most expensive being a sigma 10-20 f4-5.6.
My other lenses are zenitar 16mm f2.8 fisheye (fun lens from Russia),
Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di LD
Pentax 18-55mm kit lens

So not a massive investment.
I had thought about upgrading to something like a Pentax K50, but perhaps a better move would be to jump ship to a more standard camera such as Canon or Nikon.  I do like how my canon sx40hs feels in my hand.

What puts me off upgrading to another Pentax is availability of lenses.
Having said that I can't see me buying any special lenses such as 300 f2.8.

I'd have to say I'm an amateur, mainly interested in landscapes/ panoramas, so whatever camera I go for I'd definitely invest in a fish eye lens/ wide angle. The samyang 8mm looks interesting, but not readily available for Pentax.

So, any thoughts?

???

fuaran

• rothair gasta
Re: Upgrade from Pentax K100D to?
« Reply #1 on: 24 September, 2016, 01:45:40 pm »
Have you considered mirrorless? The new Lumix G80 looks rather nice.
The Micro 4/3 system has a decent range of lenses. And you can get adapters for other lens mounts, including Pentax. Though the crop factor would make it trickier to get a really wide angle.

BrianI

« Reply #2 on: 24 September, 2016, 02:02:46 pm »
I prefer optical viewfinders in a DSLR rather than mirror less with evf.

I'm thinking I'd get a decent camera with the Pentax k50 as it is weather sealed. Are any canon/ Nikon cameras as a similar price bracket weather sealed? Also the in body image stabilisation means that all lenses are stabilised.

Hmmm.

fuaran

• rothair gasta
« Reply #3 on: 24 September, 2016, 02:07:34 pm »