Author Topic: 2 quick questions for organisers  (Read 2380 times)

CountrySickness

• mostly puzzled
2 quick questions for organisers
« on: 09 October, 2013, 08:02:00 pm »
I am a hemi-bureaucrat by profession, so sorry for the dull post as these don't seem to be covered in the handbook:

Is there a minimum age limit for entries provided an over 18 is riding with them? I've just had a query from someone wanting to take 14-15 year olds on my event (which is full anyway - yay for me breaking even, but a shame not to introduce some youngsters to audax)

If one rider has entered other riders via paypal (I assume with their consent) do the people he has entered need to sign an entry form as they have not ticked the online box in lieu of their signature?

Cheers/Diolch :thumbsup:
CS

Re: 2 quick questions for organisers
« Reply #1 on: 09 October, 2013, 08:08:34 pm »
I believe riders as young as seven have completed some AUK BP events.
IIRC my youngest did his first 100k at nine (as stoker on tandem) with his older brother (11, maybe 12 at the time) on solo bike.

Manotea

• Where there is doubt...
« Reply #2 on: 09 October, 2013, 08:33:01 pm »
TBH, checking whether it was the rider who made the online entry or another party is not something I've thought to specifically check for. I don't believe it happens but it is an inconsisency/something that the AUK website might highlight.

Until recently the online registration process didn't record the riders emergency contact details so what I used to do was ask riders to sign on at the event HQ with the   event regulations on display. I've discontinued this now the online registration process collects this inforemation (though that doesn't mean the information is provided).

We'll have to ask John Hamilton for a definitive ruling.

« Reply #3 on: 09 October, 2013, 08:34:51 pm »