Author Topic: Muntjac  (Read 6986 times)

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
Muntjac
« on: 04 January, 2009, 11:06:05 pm »
Bloody animals - not only have they been munching my beetroot - but they have also had a major go at the purple sprouting.

Beetroot lifted and stored now - sprouting netted - and I have added a dose of human urine to the edges of the netting to discourage them - no idea whether that works or not
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

Chris S

Re: Muntjac
« Reply #1 on: 04 January, 2009, 11:12:36 pm »
Do you have a gun?

Deer eat the veggies. You eat the deer.

« Reply #2 on: 05 January, 2009, 06:57:05 am »
Bloody animals - not only have they been munching my beetroot - but they have also had a major go at the purple sprouting.

Tell me about it, tell me about it. Seems they'll have a crack at anything. We have to net virtually everything. They even started to chew the flowers from the new potatoes last year, and the flowers from the climbing beans. Pigeons, muntjac, badgers, mice, fox...we got the whole damn lot. Mind you, this is a slightly unusual place where we've taken up residence  :)

FB, if they get  chance, they'll completely strip that purple sprouting, especially in a couple of months time, when it comes into season - it happened to us last year. We haven't forgotten.  :demon:

I've got more of an appreciation for industrial food production than I ever had before now that I've seen what the reality of the alternative is all about.
Garry Broad

rae

« Reply #3 on: 05 January, 2009, 09:04:10 am »
Muntjac are number two on my list, after the rabbits.   Rabbits are worse - the sheer number of them means that the destruction is terrible. 

I'm not sure that I'll be allowed a suitable gun for muntjac - you need a proper weapon for them, don't try shooting them with a .22 bunny rifle, or worse still, pinging the buggers with an air rifle. 

Fidgetbuzz

« Reply #4 on: 05 January, 2009, 10:39:25 am »