Author Topic: Help me see the PBP light?  (Read 3530 times)

Help me see the PBP light?
« on: 09 June, 2023, 02:40:13 pm »
hello,

I'm in a bit of a pickle about PBP. I've never done it before, and thought it was something I wanted to do, but now I have completed my SR, I seem to be mostly feeling ambivalence. I think because I find 400 and 600 events so tough, twice that distance seems inconceivable and I am just focussing on the negatives. My main issue is slow moving speed and not being able to build up sufficient buffer for proper rest. I am very lucky to have a partner who is willing to support, which would be a big time saver, but I don't want to drag them round France if I'm unsure about being there in the first place.

It would be really good to hear from others about the positive aspects of PBP, as I think that will help with my motivation and hopefully a change in mindset.

Thank you.

Zed43

• prefers UK hills over Dutch mountains
Re: Help me see the PBP light?
« Reply #1 on: 09 June, 2023, 02:56:38 pm »
Riding on a country road, at 3am o'dark hour. Passing some houses, people have gathered in front and cheering you on. Continuing to a village, just big enough to warrant a church and a tabac, and again people out and about to watch the randonneurs go by, probably having a table with water and maybe other stuff for those in need.

It has to be experienced at least once IMO, even if you're not 100% sure you'll finish within the time limit. Caveat: it is said (no personal experience) the 84h groups experience far less of this couleur locale, you want a 90h or 80h startgroup.

Another positive aspect: the road surface is likely a lot smoother than you're used to in the UK.

T42

• Apprentice geezer
« Reply #2 on: 09 June, 2023, 03:55:39 pm »