Author Topic: Getting A Place on Trans Pyrenees Race  (Read 1641 times)

Getting A Place on Trans Pyrenees Race
« on: 29 September, 2023, 02:25:50 pm »
Hi, i know am exactly a year too early for this sort of query, but how easy is it to get into this race?

I have some experience of 30km rides and was hoping to supplement experience gained with some longer multiday rides next year - before TPR4. Am I up against a body of hardcore ultra endurance riders, or are there openings for lightly experineced, male, middleaged 'tester' like myself?

i am unlikely to have built up much experinece by entry time January next year.

Many thanks etc.....

Re: Getting A Place on Trans Pyrenees Race
« Reply #1 on: 06 October, 2023, 12:54:44 pm »
Not heard of it, but I have done the Raid Pyrenean twice: the first was inside 10 days, which I did with a tourer and a tent, 28 cols; the second, 18 cols in 100 hours. Also did the raid alpine last year when it was very hot.

Looking at the TPR I would suggest that to enjoy it you would need to do a lot of training and be more than lightly experienced. Long mountain climbs are tough, especially in temperatures over 30c.

Move Faster and Bake Things

« Reply #2 on: 06 October, 2023, 01:22:10 pm »
On one of the podcasts for this year's race they preceded an interview with a competitor (who descrived hmself as 'a runner, not a cyclist' by saying something like 'if you think all the riders are highly exprienced ultra-randonneurs then think again'. So not beyond the bounds of possibility for you, but on the website, under 'How do applications work?' in the faqs, it states:

There are no qualification requirements however we expect applicants to have gained relevant, multi-day, long distance expedition experience either alone or as part of a small group.

« Reply #3 on: 11 October, 2023, 05:44:52 pm »
I rode this years race. It was the toughest thing I've ever done, I was 3km away from CP5 at my cut-off time.