Author Topic: Internet based estate agents (Purple Bricks etc)  (Read 3449 times)

Oscar's dad

• aka Septimus Fitzwilliam Beauregard Partridge
Internet based estate agents (Purple Bricks etc)
« on: 23 August, 2017, 08:35:04 am »
Has anyone sold a house using an internet based estate agent such as Purple Bricks as opposed to a traditional office / High Street based estate agent?  If so do you have any experiences you'd like to share?

Thanks in advance.

Re: Internet based estate agents (Purple Bricks etc)
« Reply #1 on: 23 August, 2017, 08:38:30 am »
I know someone who recently purchased a house being sold by Purple Bricks and their solicitor had a nightmare dealing with Purple Bricks.

Don't know about selling though as they appear to be getting very popular.

« Reply #2 on: 23 August, 2017, 09:52:01 am »
I have no personal experience but talking with estate agents - who are obviously protecting themselves - the cost savings are substantial but if your house doesn't sell in the first few days to a week it can have a habit of slipping down searches on Zoopla Rightmove etc. The estate agent is more keen and will keep refreshing the ad to ensure it holds a high priority with others in the same price.

If you are in a competitive area with lots of similar property it might be better with an estate agent, if you are confident the house is unique and will attract a lot of interest just by itself then you can possibly do away with the estate agent. Expect to have to work for the cost saving. As said above you will have to chivvy up an unknown call centre/e-mail box to deal with the solicitors.

It's like everything these days, do you prefer buying your bike in a shop for a higher price but it comes with personal service or have you the time and interest to do it yourself and buy it online?
Duct tape is magic and should be worshipped

Ben T

« Reply #3 on: 23 August, 2017, 10:16:34 am »
No but watching the thread with interest.