Author Topic: Commuting bags, panniers and alternatives?  (Read 2926 times)

Commuting bags, panniers and alternatives?
« on: 05 October, 2017, 08:43:30 am »
I've been commuting for a few years now with the commonly used ortlieb back roller classic pannier bag. It's a great bag and I love it for touring. So reliably dry I don't always feel the need to double bag things like I do with rucksacks. Before that I used a rucksack. It's a great bag to use and one, 20 litre pannier suits my load. But what am I missing out on that's out there for commuting?

To explain my reasons for the enquiry I'll let you know what I carry and what I wish to gain. I carry work clothes, waterproofs, office stuff like diary, paperwork,  some stationary, a collection of USB sticks with an external hard drive, assorted personal items, keys for all sorts of things, two mobile phones, tool kit, inner tube, pump, lock and no doubt other nicnacs I've forgotten about. I wish to gain a bit of compartmentalization. Ideal situation would be pocket for toolkit, pump and inner tube. Somewhere easily accessible outside the main compartment for lock and possibly waterproofs. A pocket for phones. You get the idea.

The other thing is whether a pannier is needed. I've seen a large rack bag from zefal on the distributor' website. It has 20 or more litres capacity. Would it really be stable, even with the extendable panniers to the side?

https://www.bob-elliot.co.uk/viewdetailV2.php?target=37725

Or perhaps the Carradice way?

https://www.carradice.co.uk/bags/saddlebags/super-c-saddlebag

https://www.carradice.co.uk/bags/saddlebags/originals-nelson-longflap-saddlebag

These are just examples but at around £85 plus £45 for a bagman support it's a lot to spend even compared to the ortlieb.

Any suggestions / help?

Karla

• car(e) free
    • Lost Byway - around the world by bike
Re: Commuting bags, panniers and alternatives?
« Reply #1 on: 05 October, 2017, 09:09:42 am »