Author Topic: Memory-Map / Garmin - Newbie Question  (Read 1918 times)

alexnugget

Memory-Map / Garmin - Newbie Question
« on: 22 March, 2009, 04:36:30 pm »
Hello All.

I am a complete newbie so please excuse my ignorance.
Having recently signed up to do the Lnodon to Paris cycle ride I decided to treat myself to a GPS to aid my training. After a good deal of thought I opted for the Garmin Oregon 300 as I only wanted the GPS part not HRM etc. To complement this I purchased a 4GB card which fits nicely inside.
My Dad has (very generously) treated me to Memory-Map landranger for the south of England which I have installed on my XP PC.
After initial connection problems I now have the PC recognising the Garmin (K Drive) and the card (M Drive) as soon as they are connected by USB.
I have now also downloaded a track to the Garmin which I have successfully followed today (sorry I am rambling).
The question I have is - How do I download the actual map to the Oregon. Today I have being following roads etc that the unit's basemap doesn't even know is there and turns don't look like turns when the other road isn't on the map.
One of the main reasons that I bought the Oregon is because I thought that I would be able to see the detailed maps on the screen - is this possible or am I just deluded?
I can send the maps to the Oregon and can find them on the unit via windows explorer but the Garmin does not do anything with them and there does not seem to be a load map option or similar option within the menu.

Any help would be very gratefully received,

Thanks,
Alex

andygates

• Peroxide Viking
Re: Memory-Map / Garmin - Newbie Question
« Reply #1 on: 22 March, 2009, 05:30:54 pm »
Check OpenStreetMap coverage for your area, then if it's up to scratch, download my Garmin map for the UK and Bob's your uncle.  Link's in the sig. 

If coverage isn't up to scratch, either contribute or go spend money ;)
It takes blood and guts to be this cool but I'm still just a cliché.