Author Topic: Experiences of Teh Plague  (Read 84960 times)

Experiences of Teh Plague
« on: 15 January, 2021, 01:54:19 pm »
As I sit here, bemused by my C-19 positive test, I was thinking I'd really like to understand other people's experience, and I'm not jumping back in to the gushing river that is the POBI coronavirus thread to do it.

Bemused? Yes. Not because I've no symptoms, but the background is strange.

Before Christmas, I had cold, with a bad night time cough. No fever or other symptoms. Night time cough is  a standard for me and colds, ever since years ago when I tried ignoring a chest infection and pneumonia, so I didn't go for a test. It cleared up. over two weeks later, Mrs Ham started exhibiting similar symptoms, it appeared too long a gap to have been infected from me, but who knows? anyhow, she had a test done. Two, actually. Both negative. My cough started to come back at the start of this week, the cough this time was definitely more of a coughing fit, and unpleasant as ****. So I hied me to a test centre yesterday and had my positive result this morning.

Symptoms are only the cough. No fever, no lack of smell, but that's bad enough.

Cudzoziemiec

• Ride adventurously and stop for a brew.
Re: Experiences of Teh Plague
« Reply #1 on: 15 January, 2021, 02:14:46 pm »
The first thing is that there's a huge variety of symptoms.

For me, it was a week or so of really low level cough. Literally just one cough a day.* Then this became a worse cough and I felt weak, especially in my legs. A bit like flu but without the ache. A day or two of that, then really bad cough and 12 hours of the highest temperature I've ever had. After that it was just a gradually clearing up cough, and then I lost my sense of taste and smell. Luckily that came back gradually after a week or so.