Author Topic: Passport Renewal  (Read 1258 times)

Passport Renewal
« on: 28 August, 2013, 08:08:03 am »

Is it worth the extra cash to use the Passport Check & Send service from the Post Office?

Thanks.

Chris S

Re: Passport Renewal
« Reply #1 on: 28 August, 2013, 09:10:21 am »
It was for me, when I was in a hurry - but then I am a bit simple (used blue ink on the form - that's a no no).

« Reply #2 on: 28 August, 2013, 09:11:27 am »
When I renewed earlier this year I used the post office service. The assisitant asked where I was going. After hearing I was cycling across France she asked if I was a professional cyclist  :) :) :)

Well worth the money for that alone.

Otherwise she did spot one error which would have delayed things and the renewed passport came back very quickly (can't remember exactly but it was under two weeks). So for me it was worth it.

« Reply #3 on: 28 August, 2013, 09:14:09 am »
It is IMO. It's very easy to make an error and have it sent back. I cocked up the photos last time...
Those wonderful norks are never far from my thoughts, oh yeah!

« Reply #4 on: 28 August, 2013, 09:18:12 am »
I used it last year, because it was summer and I needed it back fairly quickly. I wouldn't have bothered if I'd had more time, though. I found the forms straightforward enough.

Vince

• Can't climb; won't climb
« Reply #5 on: 28 August, 2013, 09:22:02 am »
We don't have this facility and have to send our passports to Paris. Never had one sent back yet.
216km from Marsh Gibbon

Riggers

• Mine's a pipe, er… pint!
« Reply #6 on: 28 August, 2013, 09:25:27 am »
I'm sorry, I can't offer any advice here. We have our butler take care of such matters.
Certainly never seen cycling south of Sussex

Jaded

• The Codfather
  • Formerly known as Jaded
« Reply #7 on: 28 August, 2013, 09:30:46 am »
I've done ours online. I take the photos myself and laser print them.

Touch wood, none of the 6 or 7 renewals I've done have ever gone wrong.
It is simpler than it looks.