Author Topic: Ditching the cycle computer and forgetting the statistics!  (Read 3805 times)

ABlipInContinuity

Ditching the cycle computer and forgetting the statistics!
« on: 28 October, 2008, 11:06:08 am »
At heart, I'm a statician. I love statistics. I used to love watching my average speed on the computer grow. I used to love setting a new max speed or averaging over 20 mph on a journey home. Also, keeping the speed in double figures on a good incline. I probably spent more time looking at that darned computer then the breathtaking scenary around me.

I used to love logging the miles, working out my average weekly distance and even competing with others on bike journal.

I've been cycling without a computer totally for a couple of months now, and most of the time for the last twelve months.

And I'm finally starting to loose touch with the statistics I once knew and loved! I only really know how fast I'm going relative to the gear I have on my fixed. It is sometimes a temptation to put the computer back on and see if I'm any faster/fitter now. But sometimes it's nice not knowing. It's something less to prove.

clarion

• Tyke
Re: Ditching the cycle computer and forgetting the statistics!
« Reply #1 on: 28 October, 2008, 11:15:56 am »
It took many years for this luddite to decide to fit a computator to my bicycle.  And I've been rubbish with them - breaking them in so many inventive and unusual ways that on a couple of occasions i decided I didn't deserve to have one ;D

But I do have them on most of my bikes.  Only the Carlton doesn't.  Even my Rudge has a wireless 'puter ready to be fitted discreetly.

Why?

Well, I like the data.  That's part of it.  And the ritual of entering the figures when I get to my desk as I'm waiting for the main database to open its creaky gates decide to let me through is a nice start to the day.