Author Topic: Selling the bent to a complete novice?  (Read 2999 times)

Dave_C

• Trying to get rid of my belly... and failing!
Selling the bent to a complete novice?
« on: 05 September, 2016, 09:15:19 pm »
So someone local wants to try my bent with a view to buying. He's a friend of a friend.... I give him the spec and blurb and start the conversation with, do you have cycle shows with cleats. No, comes the answer. I don't claim to know lots of bent riders, having seen and spoken maybe a dozen in the past few years. All (barring a disabled hand cyclist) of which had SPD pedals and cleats.

I'll give him a go, but is someone who has never used clip in pedals really going to ride a bent? I tried it once with normal shoes testing new wheels on mine and after a couple of mins my legs felt it!

Dave C

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

@DaveCrampton < wot a twit.
http://veloviewer.com/athlete/421683/

Re: Selling the bent to a complete novice?
« Reply #1 on: 05 September, 2016, 09:20:39 pm »
IMHO cleats on a recumbent are a  lot easier than traditional toe clips and straps..............helpful? 
Pete Crane E75 @petecrane5

Kim

• Timelord
    • Fediverse
« Reply #2 on: 05 September, 2016, 09:24:03 pm »
What's the 'bent?  Trikes are a different kettle of fish as regards novices, as you don't have to do anything quickly.

I have encountered recumbent riders who don't use clipless pedals, but they've used some other form of foot-retention (toestraps, or disability-oriented pedals with straps - and they've all been trike riders).

I wouldn't let someone with no experience of clipless pedals attempt to ride a recumbent bicycle for the first time with them:  They're going to have clipless moments and injure themselves and/or the bike.  Either bung some flat pedals from the spares box on or let them try to ride on SPD pedals with non-cycling shoes.  It's extra work, but it's what they'll be expecting and it's good enough for a 5 minute test ride.

Dave_C