Author Topic: Pilates - is it a thing for me?  (Read 2368 times)

Tim Hall

• Victoria is my queen
Pilates - is it a thing for me?
« on: 06 May, 2015, 12:19:40 pm »
Recently I've been suffering from back pain, both after a long ride and from Spanging my back by lifting something awkwardly.

Ibuprofen helps and the pain goes within a day or so (mostly).

I seem to recall that some here go to pilates classes and wondered if I would find it beneficial.  Improving core strength and posture would do something to help with the post long ride suffering I think.

Or is it woo?
There are two ways you can get exercise out of a bicycle: you can
"overhaul" it, or you can ride it.  (Jerome K Jerome)

Re: Pilates - is it a thing for me?
« Reply #1 on: 06 May, 2015, 12:30:36 pm »
Not woo.

I've been doing Ashtanga Yoga for 2 months and have gone from groaning and creaking when getting off the floor to bounding about. Definite improvement on bike too.

Best of all, the teacher has not once mentioned 'spirituality'.

Aunt Maud

• Le Flâneur.
« Reply #2 on: 06 May, 2015, 12:32:03 pm »
It's good, do it.

But go to someone who has done some proper training i.e.. Pilates Foundation and not someone who's done a weeks course.

Eccentrica Gallumbits

• Rock 'n' roll and brew, rock 'n' roll and brew...
« Reply #3 on: 06 May, 2015, 12:33:55 pm »
Yeah, what they said.
My feminist marxist dialectic brings all the boys to the yard.

« Reply #4 on: 06 May, 2015, 12:41:04 pm »
Pilates Foundation and not someone who's done a weeks course.
+50

Ditto if you are looking at Yoga.
<i>Marmite slave</i>

Wowbagger

• Stout dipper
    • Stuff mostly about weather
« Reply #5 on: 06 May, 2015, 06:38:06 pm »
I've been going to a Pilates class for a couple of years. I ditched tai chi in its favour.

I find it a challenge, largely because of my elephantine physique, but the stretches and excercises  are very good for me, I am sure.
Quote from: Dez
It doesn’t matter where you start. Just start.