Author Topic: [LEL17] LEL Alston refreshment stop  (Read 4487 times)

[LEL17] LEL Alston refreshment stop
« on: 25 September, 2016, 08:38:30 am »
Tony and I have been discussing Alston, at the bottom of Yad Moss. Whenever I've ridden any part of the route, I've always ended up stopping in Alston. And looking at footage, it seems a lot of riders do too.

Brampton is easily the busiest control of the event, so we're looking at ways to increase capacity around there. This makes Alston a very attractive place to put in some extra facilities. So we've booked the private youth hostel in the town, as well as the local (tiny) secondary school. This should give us about 120 beds for riders to use, though how we allocate the nice beds in the youth hostels is yet to be worked out.

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
Re: LEL Alston refreshment stop
« Reply #1 on: 25 September, 2016, 11:48:06 am »
Nice or nasty beds .. You are spoiling them !!
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

JayP

• You must be joking
« Reply #2 on: 25 September, 2016, 12:00:13 pm »
though how we allocate the nice beds in the youth hostels is yet to be worked out.

Clearly 65+ only  ;D

« Reply #3 on: 25 September, 2016, 01:04:19 pm »
What I don't want it to be is first-come-first served. We may save it for desperate cases, or just leave it to the Alston team to allocate them.

« Reply #4 on: 25 September, 2016, 02:16:29 pm »
How about nice beds for those that help last time,then say ladies and then i dont know.

« Reply #5 on: 25 September, 2016, 09:40:11 pm »
VC167 are having a weekend away in Alston next weekend.  Let's hope they behave themselves otherwise Audax cyclists might no longer be welcome.

I remember stopping somewhere just outside Alston in 2009.  You had to lock your bike up outside, just to stop it from blowing away.

« Reply #6 on: 25 September, 2016, 11:59:42 pm »