Author Topic: Juddering when braking  (Read 8641 times)

vorsprung

• Opposites Attract
    • Audaxing
Juddering when braking
« on: 30 April, 2008, 08:39:18 pm »
When I'm going fast on a steep downhill for instance if I pull on the front break quite hard the bike judders
I noticed this after a steep descent ( down the hill to the awlsicombe pub, Ian) I then did the rest of the ride only using the back brake  :)

To be exact the front fork flexes as if the brake is snatching on and off

The front wheel isn't very true.  I am not very good at that sort of thing  ???

Could the juddering be caused by the wheel not being true?

It does judder a little at lower speeds but I guess then there isn't so much energy in the decelloration so there isn't so much energy in the judder

I haven't ridden the bike for 12 weeks since my crash.  I have used it on the turbo though.  Before the crash the wheel wasnt very true either but I don't remember it juddering.  My crash happened during heavy breaking on a hill

I'm gonna have another go at truing it tomorrow anyway

hmm also I could swap in a wheel from another bike see if it still does it

clarion

• Tyke
Re: juddering when breaking
« Reply #1 on: 30 April, 2008, 08:40:52 pm »
Could well be the front wheel being untrue.  When you've sorted that, make sure the brakes are toed in correctly.

And there's never any harm in checking the headset is tight.
Getting there...

Adam

• It'll soon be summer
    • Charity ride Durness to Dover 18-25th June 2011
« Reply #2 on: 30 April, 2008, 08:47:00 pm »
Speaking of headsets, I had a very similar juddering when using the front brake on my commuter which got worse throughout last year.  Eventually I got round to searching for the reason.  Although the headset was done up perfectly tight, all the ball bearings inside were dry as a bone. 

I guess 10 years of not being touched might have something to do with it..................

So, a big dab of grease all round, and no more juddering.