Author Topic: Ebay Tandem, opinions please?  (Read 2797 times)

Morat

• I tried to HTFU but something went ping :(
Ebay Tandem, opinions please?
« on: 19 April, 2023, 08:28:34 pm »
Hi, I've always had a soft spot for Cannondale tandems since I rode on the back of one for a few years with a mate of mine. I've had an ebay alert up for a long time (maybe 5 years?) which so far has only really found derailleur hangers for sale and some unsuitably sized tandems, until this popped up:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/275800490872

It's the right size for my wife and I (6'4 and 6') which is rare. However, it must be quite old as it's a Made in USA frame which IIRC stopped in 2009.
Does anyone (apart from the seller if you're on here :) ) think it's worth £1400? Are there any obvious bits that will need a thorough check before any money changes hands?

All input much appreciated, I'm far from an expert in this field!
Everyone's favourite windbreak

LittleWheelsandBig

• Whimsy Rider
Re: Ebay Tandem, opinions please?
« Reply #1 on: 19 April, 2023, 08:46:17 pm »
It looks like a low mileage machine and equipped decently.  I am a Cannondale tandem fan, owning the first such frame into Australia from new. The stoker can wiggle around however they like and the frame is stiff enough for the captain to keep the bike going where it should.

In terms of a fair price, how much is a comparable tandem new? Considerably more than double the asking price from memory.
Wheel meet again, don't know where, don't know when...

finch

• Hair today gone tomorrow
    • Comicpictures
« Reply #2 on: 19 April, 2023, 10:10:23 pm »
aw that’s beautiful , surely if you’ve been waiting that long it’s worth the asking price

« Reply #3 on: 20 April, 2023, 08:36:27 am »
I'm not a fan of Cannondale tandems- too long for short arse stokers.

I think that's a fair price for a very nice well specced machine.

Morat

« Reply #4 on: 20 April, 2023, 09:45:09 pm »